Originally Posted By: WIDGEON
Originally Posted By: SouthBamaSlayer
Not sure why you guys say e-collars don't work. It worked great with my lab. You don't just shock them when they misbehave, you show them the proper way to behave and reward them for it. It's the same thing as typical reward/punishment training, it just comes with a little shock that gets there attention. Dog runs off, shock it and call it back. Dog comes back, it gets a treat. Dog won't stop barking, command it to stop and shock it, dog stops barking, give it a treat. Same concept as house breaking. Dog pees in the house, put its nose in it and discipline it, then take it outside to show it where it's supposed to happen. E-collars work great if you know what you're doing.

I didn't say they don't just stating most using them wrong. I have a Master Level Lab. She is collar condition, I run her with a E collar 90% of the time I can use a tone to correct her and not a stimulation. Sorry Bama your training methods are not very affective. House breaking you don't allow the dog to ever use the bathroom in the house,yes accidents happen, but 90% of the time its the owners fault. Always take a pup out when the wake up,after they eat and drink and I always take them out every 45 mins, Then after a few weeks I up it to a hr, and so on for a few months. Then the pup knows. As its doing its business out side depending I use that word Pee or Poop. Every dog Ive owned and train will go on command. I never rub its nose in it. They don't understand. If they do go inside and I catch them I say NO. They will get the hang of it quickly. Its easier to lock them in a tile room and put down puppy pads.Thats saying its ok to go in the house.I never correct a dog with a ecollar on house breaking.I'e trained 3 Labs myself to Senior to Master levels.Mine are 100% house broken,mine do not chew on things except for Nylabones. Mine are VERY well behaved when company is around. And only bark when something is not right which I