I've had some eye opening financial education lately. I'm no expert, but some of what I've learned I'm gonna share with you guys.

I've always been like many of the posters on here. I didn't understand it, so it was better for me to let someone else manage my accounts. Sounds like good advice.

But wait.

Can any of you quickly recall what your fees are to have your accounts managed? Is it 1%? 2%? What exactly are you paying? Those percentages don't sound like much do they?

What are fees costing you?

Another link if you trust government information

Anyway, so I didn't take the information I was receiving for a fact. I ran my own numbers. I kept it simple and kept to nice round numbers to see what my results were.

I invested my fictional $10,000.00 insurance payoff at the age of 24 in a 401K that advertised they had averaged 6% growth over the last two decades. I didn't put another dime in that account.

I figured 6% growth on $10k over 36 years and retired at a spry age of 60. These numbers are with ZERO fees, meaning I managed my account myself. When I turned 60 years old this account is worth $81,472.52 and represents a very decent growth on my money.

Now, I figured this same information but decided to let someone else manage my money for me. I couldn't be hassled with dealing with it. This company charged me a 1% fee on my money over the same period of time. When I turned 60 years old this account is worth $57,918.16. WHAT? 1% cost me $23,554.36 in profits.

One last time. I figured this same information but decided to let someone else manage my money for me. I couldn't be hassled with dealing with it. This company charged me a 2% fee on my money over the same period of time. When I turned 60 years old this account is worth $41,039.33. 2% cost me $40,433.19 in profits.

Those numbers are with a simple fee and no other charges they may make.