From my 5 year QDMA study on 800 acres as of last year many posts here are pretty accurate and then some didn't pertain to the 800 I studied.

I had every natural source for the deer to utilize. I added the large and small food plots and bait piles. I had whole corn, food blocks, attractants, field corn on the cob etc. at the bait piles. I had 24 camera's spread around at bait piles, plots, creek crossings, rut trails, scrapes, path ways to bedding areas, power line crossings, white oak forests, clear cut edges etc.

One thing as mentioned before the #1 thing that trumps anything out there for deer is "hunger" The rut doesn't compare, it just makes bucks stupid and the deer more active racing around causing....... "hunger" I never used any cover scents, gloves etc. when doing any feeding or cam checking each Saturday for 5 years all year long. They still showed up and sometimes just hours since I was there.

If you stink naturally, smoke, drink alcohol, dog crap on your boots, fried food smell then expect to be had either hunting or just visiting briefly to the spot. 4 wheelers, vehicles exhaust and oil leaks don't help either and leave residual funk way after your gone.

I had deer at bait stations day or night at anytime of the year, 3-4 year old bucks were the oldest I estimated while studying. All the deer got used to the bait piles quickly and the doe doesn't give a crap what's up most of the time if not pressured so, if she smells like a walking restaurant to the others they'll follow and you know who will follow also (Mr. buck)