Aldeer.com

45 acp

Posted By: goodman_hunter

45 acp - 10/11/19 01:28 PM

I'm new to this, but what self defense ammo works best and what do i need to stay away from?
Posted By: Thread Killer

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 01:46 PM

Winchester PDX-1, Federal HST, Remington Goldensaber, Speer Golddot, Winchester Ranger, Federal Hydrashok, Corbon Powrball, All good choices.
Posted By: dave260rem!

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 01:51 PM

All of them work. I'd stay away from 185 swc's Target loads probably won't cycle.
Posted By: 3toe

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 02:23 PM

I've got the Federal HST's in mine. No certain reason other than after watching a ton of reviews on 45 ammo on youtube I felt it was the best to go with.
Posted By: KHOOKS

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 02:34 PM

230 gr speer gold dots

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 02:38 PM

its an older 45, will that change anything?
Posted By: Scout308

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 03:24 PM

Originally Posted by KHOOKS
230 gr speer gold dots

>This<
Posted By: UncleHuck

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 03:25 PM

230 grain will probably work best, as that is what they are designed to shoot.

Personally, I like the Speer Gold Dot.
Posted By: Scout308

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 03:31 PM

Make sure you use quality magazines. I use Wilson Combat.
Posted By: jb20

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 03:35 PM

I always alternate hornady critical defense and a heavy full metal jacket in my clips
Posted By: Stob

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 03:39 PM

Winchester White Box 230gr. JHP or maybe some Silvertips.
Yes, I'm old. Love those Silvertips.

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 04:32 PM

Originally Posted by Scout308
Make sure you use quality magazines. I use Wilson Combat.

I'm glad you said that. It came with some mags but they're old and probably been loaded and not shot for 25 plus years.
Posted By: AU338MAG

Re: 45 acp - 10/11/19 04:56 PM

Originally Posted by jb20
I always alternate hornady critical defense and a heavy full metal jacket in my clips