Aldeer.com

I bought a Akorn and love it

Posted By: basspro527

I bought a Akorn and love it - 01/11/18 03:03 PM

I am pretty experienced smoker I have a propane masterbuilt but have wanted a Kamado style for a while, so I bought a blue Akorn and love it. It does have a 5 year warranty which I liked and I do understand it is not a ceramic green egg. It measure 317cu inch which is pretty big, so an way I cant believe the temperature control and how air tight this thing is. I smoked chicke and really set it and walked away, my Masterbuilt requires far more monitoring that that. I feel like the Akorn is built tough and for the price a 5 year warranty is fair.
Posted By: SouthBamaSlayer

Re: I bought a Akorn and love it - 01/11/18 03:10 PM

I have an Akorn and love it as well.
Posted By: Irishguy

Re: I bought a Akorn and love it - 01/11/18 08:41 PM

I love mine. Had it about 2 years and I'm buying one for the cabin too. I have nothing but praise for them. Great cooker. I have cooked so many good meals on mine it is ridiculous.
Posted By: Bucky205

Re: I bought a Akorn and love it - 01/12/18 11:47 AM

I really like my Akorn as well. I've had some small problems like the cover has faded to a gray and the bottom plate that sits between the wheels has started getting surface rust. But a really good Kamado for the price.
Posted By: Sheriffd

Re: I bought a Akorn and love it - 01/14/18 12:32 AM

I've had mine for 5 years I think? When Walmart first started selling them. Only thing that's wrong is the rack where the burnt could drop in had rusted lose, but still can attach to the bottom. Not a huge deal for as much as I use it
Posted By: GomerPyle

Re: I bought a Akorn and love it - 01/15/18 11:11 AM