Aldeer.com

Planting Chufas

Posted By: AUdeerhunter

Planting Chufas - 02/11/11 02:42 AM

I'm new to chufas so I need some advice...

I've studied up on them a little, and here's what I've gathered: 40-50 lbs. per acre from May-July at a depth of 1-1.5 inches with 400-500 lbs. of fertilizer.

I have a food plot that I'm planning on converting to a chufa patch. The field is roughly 1 acre in size and is currently a food plot (wheat, rye, peas, & greens) - this field is not very "weedy". We will be using a hopper-type spreader on the tractor (broadcasting) and will use a 4 wheeler drag (section of chainlink fence) to cover it with.

Here's what I'm wondering about:

When do I need to initially disk?

Do you think I'll benefit very much if I spray the plot prior to disking (since it's not very "weedy")?

What type of fertilizer is best suited for this (I've read triple 13 is ok)?

From what I've noticed, our drag usually covers the seed about .5-1 inch deep. Do you think I'll be alright if I drag it twice?
Posted By: YEKRUT

Re: Planting Chufas - 02/11/11 02:51 AM

I am with you until the bottom.... I would spray just to kill any excess weeds there might be. I wouldn't drag more than once though. I think that might uncover more than just dragging it once.
Posted By: poorcountrypreacher

Re: Planting Chufas - 02/11/11 03:01 AM

Sounds like you are on the right track. A field that hasn't had a summer crop in it recently will usually get by the first year without herbicides; after that, they become essential. I put out about 300 lbs/13-13-13 at planting, and then add 100 lbs of ammonium nitrate after about 60 days.

Planting depth is not critical with chufas, a guy that grows seed for a living told my dad that its impossible to plant them too deep. I just cover mine lightly with the disc.