Aldeer.com

Full turkey mount?

Posted By: AU7MM08

Full turkey mount? - 08/17/19 12:31 AM

What should one expect to spend to get a complete turkey mounted?
Posted By: Dublgrumpy

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/17/19 01:01 AM

Probly quite a bit. I paid $200 around 1985 to have one mounted in a flying position. Good luck.
Posted By: sj22

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/17/19 01:09 AM

Just paid $675
Posted By: BhamFred

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/17/19 01:09 AM

$600 for a quality mount
Posted By: Remington270

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/17/19 07:29 PM

I’ve got one at the taxi now for $800. Hicks in Northport wanted $1,200.
Posted By: ALFisher

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/18/19 12:30 AM

500-750 and I’d question someone who said they could do it for a whole lot less than that and stay in business.

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/18/19 01:55 AM

My taxidermist sends the heads off to be freeze dried, which is supposedly preferred to just putting a plastic head on there. But I’m no expert in taxidermy.
Posted By: Dublgrumpy

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/18/19 02:11 AM

Originally Posted by Remington270
My taxidermist sends the heads off to be freeze dried, which is supposedly preferred to just putting a plastic head on there. But I’m no expert in taxidermy.

Gary Hubbard mounted my turkey years ago. He told me that freeze drying was the only way to make it look realistic. After more than 30 years, mine still looks like it's flying away. You made the right choice. I have seen others done differently, but can promise you there is no comparison. I haven't talked to Mr. Gary in years & can only assume he's still living. He's mounted deer for me as well & have had them back in only 3 months. He has never taken in too much stuff that he couldn't do the job fairly quick. He's a heck of a taxidermist. You should be happy with your turkey mount by the freeze dry method.

Re: Full turkey mount? - 08/18/19 02:23 AM

That’s good to hear.
Posted By: Bustinbeards