Aldeer.com

I'm new at this bowhunting

Posted By: Browning7Mag

I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 10:43 PM

Well this evening I was hunting and right at dark I had decent 8pt come across in front of me at 23yds boardside an he stopped. So I put the pin right behide the shoulder an shot he made a grunt sound and took off. I watched him run out of the field an it sounded like he crashed. Well I got down and couldn't find my arrow or any blood. I looked for over an hour So I'm thinking I missed but I'm gonna go back in the morning to look some more.
Posted By: Johnal3

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 10:52 PM

What did it sound like when the arrow hit? Did you have a good light? If you couldn't find the arrow, it's probably because he carried it off. Hope he's laying there in the morning.
Posted By: 87dixieboy

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 10:52 PM

I shot one one time in the shoulder and it made a grunt sound. Didn't get a full pass through and my arrow broke off. Never found the deer hope u find em man.
Posted By: Shaw

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 11:06 PM

Did the arrow make a thump noise or was it a loud crack?

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 11:10 PM

It made a thump noise.

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 11:14 PM

We're you in the woods or on a plot? Did you look in the area you heard the crash? I'm willing to bet you find your deer in the morning. A thump and a grunt normally means a lung hit. Good luck, hope you find him.

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/06/14 11:19 PM

Yep, sounds like u knocked the breath outta him! Let us know how it turns out. Hopefully I'm gonna let the air out of one myself in the am!

Re: I'm new at this bowhunting - 11/07/14 12:00 AM

I was on a plot. I looked in the area where it sounded he crashed but it was pretty thick an I hadn't found any blood so thats when I thought id better back out an wait for morning because I could have walked up on him an never seen him.