Aldeer.com

Flint Knapping?

Posted By: Coosa1

Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 02:58 PM

I've been watching some videos on youtube and have taken a real interest in learning how to knap stone points. Not necessarily planning on making them to hunt with yet but that may come later down the road. Anybody else do it?
Posted By: Shaw

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 05:10 PM

BhamFred is your huckleberry.
Posted By: Sixpointholler

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 06:31 PM

It's addictive when you figure out what you're doing. Been knapping for a couple years. Not great at it but I really enjoy it.
Posted By: Hunting-231

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 06:42 PM

Originally Posted by Shaw
BhamFred is your huckleberry.

X2
Posted By: TurkeyJoe

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 07:15 PM

Yes I do. It’s a lot of fun.
Posted By: BhamFred

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 07:18 PM

I'VE BEEN DOING IT FOR 25 YEARS OR SO. I FIRST LEARNED HOW SO I COULD MAKE HEADS TO HUNT WITH. I've killed a dozen deer, hogs, and turkey with stone points.

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 07:21 PM

How hard is it to find naturally occurring stone to use in central AL? I don't know that I've ever seen flint/chert around our place. And it seems like all of the points that I find in our fields are made from quartz which I've read is pretty hard to work with. I did order a knapping kit and 10lbs of rock to get started with.
Posted By: jb20

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 09:11 PM

Get u some beer bottles n use the bottom

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/02/22 09:38 PM

glass and obsidian(natural glass) are both easier to snap because the molecules are even throughout the rock. South Alabama Tallahatta Quartzite is very hard because the makeup thru the rock varies and it breaks in odd ways. White Quartz is very very hard to knap
Posted By: TurkeyJoe

Re: Flint Knapping? - 02/04/22 01:29 AM