Aldeer.com

What kind of speed are you traditional shooters getting?

Posted By: Strictlybow

What kind of speed are you traditional shooters getting? - 01/21/17 09:14 AM

I'm curious because I was looking over the ASA rules for this year and noticed that the speed limit for traditional is 280 fps, the same as my compound class.

I have a Damon Howatt Mamba recurve that I play around with and I feel like it's quick for a stick but no where near that fast.

What are you guys getting?
Posted By: BhamFred

Re: What kind of speed are you traditional shooters getting? - 01/21/17 09:30 AM

I shoot heavy arrows, 570gr , out of 52-57# longbows and recurves. Speed is 140-165fps. 200fps is pretty hard to reach with a hunting weight arrow shot from a 40-60# bow, no matter the design of the bow.

Those guys are shooting very light arrows, prolly 3-4grains of arrow weight per pound of bow pull. I shoot 10-12gr/pound.

light arrows are faster, penetrate less, stress the bow more, and are waythehell louder. Speed is only an advantage on paper targets in my opinion. I can't shoot accurately enough at longer ranges(30+yards) to gain any advantage of a flatter shooting arrow. Much less giving up penetration. Placement and penetration is what kills.
Posted By: PoohBear

Re: What kind of speed are you traditional shooters getting? - 01/22/17 03:00 PM

Hey guys, I am shooting a 45# Samick Sage, but only pulling 40# because of my short draw length (26.5"), and shooting a 512 grain arrow.

I shot through a chrono last year and got a reading of 142 fps. I can't wait to get good enough to hunt with it! Thanks.
Posted By: R_H_Clark

Re: What kind of speed are you traditional shooters getting? - 01/22/17 04:54 PM

218 with my ILF rig and 5gpp. It's my target rig and I hunt with heavier arrows.It is also designed to be safe to shoot those weights. Most wood and fiberglass bows would fail after a while with such light arrows.
Posted By: BOFF