Aldeer.com

Seed starting

Posted By: imadeerhntr

Seed starting - 01/29/23 02:14 PM

This is my first year gardening from seeds. I put some pepper seeds in one of the peet beds I got at Walmart and placed it by a window. My question is do I need to buy a flourescent light for them?
Posted By: jwalker77

Re: Seed starting - 01/29/23 03:28 PM

I dont know the answer to that but theres a bug that really likes to eat pepper plant leaves. I didnt manage to produce any last year because of it. I never saw the bug. I would go out there each day and more leaves were gone. Fellow where i bought their replacement plants said they use lanate 1oz per gallon of water. I have some lanate if you cant get it.
Posted By: Mdees

Re: Seed starting - 01/29/23 07:29 PM

I have grow lights now but I started tomatoes and peppers in sunny, south-facing windows for years with good results.
You’ll want to up-pot pellets once the second or third set of leaves start to show. I use red solo cups filled with a homemade mix of potting material. I use an ice pick and poke several small holes in the bottoms for drainage. I grow them out there until they are ready to go into the ground or container. You can reuse those cups many times. I’ll use a sharpie and trim tape to label them if needed.
Posted By: BOFF

Re: Seed starting - 01/29/23 07:32 PM

If they are like tomatoes and you are not getting DIRECT sunlight for 6 hours minimum, (not bright light) then yes, you will need a grow light.

God Bless,
David B.
Posted By: BOFF

Re: Seed starting - 01/29/23 07:36 PM

Originally Posted by Mdees
I have grow lights now but I started tomatoes and peppers in sunny, south-facing windows for years with good results.