Aldeer.com

Chickens eating eggs.

Posted By: Slim1026

Chickens eating eggs. - 03/22/18 11:52 PM

I'm new to chickens. Bought a coop and got 3 RIRs at a flea market. Have one hen that eats the eggs. Has anyone else had that problem? And what do I need to do?
Posted By: countryjwh

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 01:15 AM

You like to eat chicken?
Posted By: timbercruiser

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 01:26 AM

I have always heard that they are wanting calcium, maybe a small sack of crushed oyster shells would help.
Posted By: Joe4majors

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 02:06 AM

Originally Posted by countryjwh
You like to eat chicken?

Literally LOLed at that one...

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 11:58 AM

Fried chicken was my first thought, but the kids ain't having it.
Posted By: Runningdeer

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 02:32 PM

Originally Posted by timbercruiser
I have always heard that they are wanting calcium, maybe a small sack of crushed oyster shells would help.

^^^^^
This
Posted By: Maggie123

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 06:44 PM

Eggsactly...they need some calcium. My chickens free range all the time, except at night, and I still occasioinally give them a sack of crushed oyster shell.
Posted By: top cat

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 09:45 PM

I remember feedind them oyster shells years ago when we had and egg farm.

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 09:54 PM

I've given them oyster shell crumbles, but they don't seem interested. Google says it's about protein, but I'd rather have y'alls experience. Losing almost half my eggs, so I may just start over with a new flock.
Posted By: Maggie123

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/23/18 10:40 PM

Try some meal worms and suet blocks first. I supplement those and oyster shell regularly. In addition, I give my girls old fashion plain oats. They love oats!.
Posted By: turkey_killer

Re: Chickens eating eggs. - 03/26/18 01:27 AM