Aldeer.com

Need some help???????

Posted By: coyotehunter

Need some help??????? - 01/21/15 10:05 AM

I'm really new to this so this may be a dumb question. I've done my ladder test and came up with a 42gr load. I can load 4 or 5 rounds and have 3 or 4 shots in the same hole or really close. In every bunch there will be 1 or 2 that are an inch or maybe an inch and a half away from the group. I've been playing with seating depth and think I have it solved then that one dang flyer makes me want to start over. Any ideas where to start or what might be causing this.
Posted By: jacannon

Re: Need some help??????? - 01/21/15 12:26 PM

Do you use a concentricity guage? I find that if the barrel is free bored,I like having less than .002 run out.
Posted By: Wiley Coyote

Re: Need some help??????? - 01/21/15 12:37 PM

What are you using for a rest?

Re: Need some help??????? - 01/21/15 05:11 PM

No to the concentricity gauge. I have a good sturdy table and a sled type rest.
Posted By: Aubcubfan

Re: Need some help??????? - 01/22/15 03:35 PM

How much time between each shot? If your barrel gets too hot, you can get those type of results. When trying to get a good group, I'll wait 5 minutes between each shot.
Posted By: garyo

Re: Need some help??????? - 01/25/15 10:58 AM

For me my hunting rifle .I set it for 1st shot cold bore. all after shots are to ck the change & where it changes. then I stop. it may take 2 days at same temp so all 1st cold shots match. for me its that 1st shot.last test 100 yds golf ball on a tee , clean hit.do this at hunting temp.
Posted By: roadkill

Re: Need some help??????? - 01/25/15 01:44 PM

Originally Posted By: garyo
For me my hunting rifle .I set it for 1st shot cold bore. all after shots are to ck the change & where it changes. then I stop. it may take 2 days at same temp so all 1st cold shots match. for me its that 1st shot.last test 100 yds golf ball on a tee , clean hit.do this at hunting temp.