Aldeer.com

Possums vs coons

Posted By: BatesConst

Possums vs coons - 04/11/17 10:08 PM

I'm totally new to this. I have 2 "have a heart" cage traps and 2 z-traps. I've caught 7 possums and 1coon in roughly 2 weeks. The live traps are more productive so far. Is this ratio of possums to coons not high? Or is this about average. I'm using canned cat food for bait.
Posted By: CNC

Re: Possums vs coons - 04/12/17 08:38 AM

Originally Posted By: BatesConst
I'm totally new to this. I have 2 "have a heart" cage traps and 2 z-traps. I've caught 7 possums and 1coon in roughly 2 weeks. The live traps are more productive so far. Is this ratio of possums to coons not high? Or is this about average. I'm using canned cat food for bait.

I've gotten just the opposite ratio...way more coons than possums. I think your bait makes a lot of difference. Also, possums seem to be more likely to use a cage trap than a DP. Try some corn in your DP's and see if the coons like it better.
Posted By: charlie

Re: Possums vs coons - 04/12/17 10:57 AM

Bait does make a difference and cage traps catch more possum for me too, but it all depends on where you are and what the population numbers are. In the city I catch more possum than coon by about 3 to 1 but I can only use cage traps in the city limits as well. In dp traps in the woods it is probably 6 to 1 coons to possum in the places I have trapped no matter the bait. Sweet baits will be more likely to catch less possum. I think possum, because they are slower and more scavengers , find the strong fishy baits easier and use their nose more.
Posted By: rst87

Re: Possums vs coons - 04/12/17 02:51 PM

Originally Posted By: charlie