Aldeer.com

What timing

Posted By: BradB

What timing - 05/21/17 10:41 AM

Soometimes ya get lucky. Got a buddy out to the farm Friday evening who got the 2 ac dove field I had prepped a few weeks ago seeded with Sunflowers and got the Dual Magnum sprayed. And then the rain came. All we need now is some birds that n about 3 1/2 months
Posted By: 257wbymag

Re: What timing - 05/21/17 06:33 PM

Good deal. I'm shooting to plant Friday/sat on sunflowers then turn around spray my dual/spartan/roundup then hope it rains Memorial Day.

Re: What timing - 05/22/17 03:51 PM

Well maybe not such good timing. I have never used pre-emergents before and know they need to rain to activate but what happens if they get 2.5 inches pretty fast.

Re: What timing - 05/22/17 09:43 PM

They get activated just fine. However in real low saturated spots it may break down faster. The deeper it gets driven in the soil the faster weeds rebound.
Posted By: BullMountain

Re: What timing - 05/24/17 08:04 AM

Can you give a little detail about your spray after the planter? I am trying to use a drill and plate clearfield sunflowers through waist high wheat and oats that I burned down last weekend with round-up and 2-4-d-ester.

Re: What timing - 05/24/17 05:57 PM

It's pretty simple I guess. I burned down back in mid April with gly and 24D. Will plant then spray that day behind planter with medal 2(generic dual 2 mag) at 1.33 pts per acre, spartan 4F at 6oz per acre and gly. The key to sunflowers is keep them clean for first 30-45 days. We just had zidua get approved by EPA for over the top of sunflowers this week. Going to use it post emerge at 4 leaf for added grass/pigweed residual.

Re: What timing - 05/25/17 09:00 AM

Is the Zidua something available to plot guys?I had hoped to add Spartan to the mix but could not find it in time. If there is something I can go over the top with it would be really helpful since we now have had about 6.5 inches since planting.