Aldeer.com

How to prepare a duck "spot"

Posted By: Smann

How to prepare a duck "spot" - 03/14/17 08:12 AM

I am a very novice duck hunter. I may have the opportunity to have access to some backwater lakes off of the Black Warrior River. I have no idea if it hold ducks or not. It seems like it should though. Looks like some standing timber and fairly shallow. Not 100% on that though. My question is what can I do, if anything, to improve the area or attract ducks to this area? Thanks in advance?
Posted By: Rocket62

Re: How to prepare a duck "spot" - 03/14/17 08:40 AM

I don't believe that you can. They are gonna either be using it or not. I'd scout it and see if they are and if so hunt it. If not don't bother with it
Posted By: woodduck

Re: How to prepare a duck "spot" - 03/17/17 09:23 PM

Corn or have someone fly over drop load soybeans out of crop duster. Knew someone did that years ago. Needless to say they killed bunch of ducks.
Posted By: TickaTicka

Re: How to prepare a duck "spot" - 03/19/17 09:46 AM

Originally Posted By: woodduck
Corn or have someone fly over drop load soybeans out of crop duster. Knew someone did that years ago. Needless to say they killed bunch of ducks.

Most call that baiting, not preparation.

Re: How to prepare a duck "spot" - 03/19/17 02:10 PM

Maybe I should of worded that different. Illegal for sure. Flooded timber he may have some roosting woodies and mallards if gets cold enough push some down. Hopefully he has found good spot they use. They either use it or not. Guess he could drain it and plant something if has money and depending on size of it.

Re: How to prepare a duck "spot" - 03/20/17 12:25 PM