Aldeer.com

Baiting and trapping help please

Posted By: chris3954

Baiting and trapping help please - 02/01/14 12:43 PM

I have a club in Winston co that is part of Bankhead national forest/double springs. 300 acres with 3 deer hunters 1 duck hunter and myself. Now that deer/duck season is over I'd like to get as many pigs as possible. My question is can I hunt over bait? Which style trap is best? This is my first time doing this and have zero experience any help would be great!!
Posted By: averyd28

Re: Baiting and trapping help please - 02/03/14 06:18 PM

You can hunt them over bait and at night but you need to get a permit from your local game warden. If the game warden believes your property has enough hog sign; he will be more than happy to write you a permit.
I have found corn mixed with just about anything that smells works good. I typically use corn mixed with menhaden fish oil or just leftover fish guts from the summer’s catch. Some people like to make a corn mash, which typically consist of corn, water, yeast and sugar mix. People will leave it in a concealed barrel and let the corn ferment. It smells awful, so the hogs tend to love it. They also have a sweet tooth; most hogs baits you buy over the counter have a sweet smell. I have found that cool aid mix works well and is also very cheap compared to the hog baits.
Sorry don’t have much experience in the trapping department, I only stock hunt them.
Posted By: ElkHunter

Re: Baiting and trapping help please - 02/03/14 08:40 PM

Check out our link above on hog trapping. They cost money but you can't beat the effectiveness of the trap. It will pay for itself in the long run. Will be working up in Limestone County in March. Would be glad to stop in the area and help you out.

Alabama Hog Control.

Barry Estes
Posted By: Anonymous

Re: Baiting and trapping help please - 02/04/14 07:46 AM

PM me. I'm in your backyard and caught 156 last year.

Re: Baiting and trapping help please - 02/04/14 02:11 PM