Aldeer.com

Hog calling?

Posted By: Powpow65

Hog calling? - 01/10/19 04:01 AM

Found a spot to hunt some hogs this year, but I have zero hog hunting experience. I just shoot what comes along while.deer hunting. Do y'all.have any success with calls?
Posted By: BayedUp

Re: Hog calling? - 01/10/19 06:27 AM

Corn will call them in. Lol
Posted By: JohnnyLoco

Re: Hog calling? - 01/10/19 08:49 PM

Yes Sir, look in this other thread.

http://www.aldeer.com/forum/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=2672646&page=1

What I’ve learned about running the calls is most times it works better once you lay eyes on or know the hogs are creeping around. If you are after any kinda pig then “Squealer” and “Sow Hysteria” works well. You can also use your deer grunt call to sound like a pig enough for them to drop their gaurd.

Any given technique might work at any given time, its kinda random until you get good at it.

If I had to pick one technique that has a fairly high sucess rate is setup in a tree off a trail and put a hand full of corn next to the trail, and let stealth be your asset. Any noise you make, cover it with your pig sound. Pigs sniff, sneeze, cough, and such just like you do, cept they make pig sounds too.

Skunk scent is a dang good cover. You can play the wind to what you think the advantage is but I really don’t find wind that important as they come from all directions.

The hog’s greatest weakness is using the same trails. Sitting off a crossroad intersection of trails is even better.

Mature Boars are a whole nuther animal. If you do any of the funky boar techniques I use like woman pee, sow in heat, or panties, I suggest you be off the ground and don’t put this stuff next to you.