Aldeer.com

Planting without rain?

Posted By: JohnMark

Planting without rain? - 08/27/19 02:31 PM

I am new to food plotting and I have cleared a .25 ac. area to plant some clover and chicory with some rye. I was planning on putting the seed and fertilizer out this Saturday to be up for archery season, but it looks like there won’t be any rain in the forecast until next Friday. Will the seed and fertilizer be okay to sit for a few days to wait on the rain? It’s hard for me to get to the hunting property whenever I want to based on the rain.
Posted By: Remington270

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/27/19 02:48 PM

Yes. You've got to plant when you can. But you are really early in terms of when most people plant. I'm not planting for another 4-5 weeks from today.

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/27/19 02:52 PM

Thanks. Well like I said, I’m new to this. I just wanted something established enough to be attractive by mid October. I figured the clover would take awhile. So I should wait a few weeks? This plot will mainly be for early season bow hunting.

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/27/19 03:39 PM

Bow season isn't until Oct 15. If you plant towards the end of Sept of first of Oct, you'll have sprouts by the 15th. The longer you wait, the less weed competition you get for your desired species in the plot.
Posted By: stl32

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/27/19 08:55 PM

The clover you plant now is actually for next spring and summer. If you plant this early you run the risk of army worms eating everything you have, also like others have said the weeds will be a problem.
Posted By: Hunting-231

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/28/19 12:13 AM

Yep - good advice from Remington270 and stl32.
Posted By: mike35549

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/28/19 01:14 AM

I plant in Lamar and Walker Co. Usually middle of September.
Posted By: toothdoc

Re: Planting without rain? - 08/28/19 01:16 PM