Aldeer.com

ISO cheap/free land or club for new hunter

Posted By: Cooper

ISO cheap/free land or club for new hunter - 10/07/15 10:41 AM

I am new to hunting and looking to get some deer meat and learn. I live in North st Clair and looking for a club or just some land I can hunt on and learn, I do not have much money so its hard to lease my own land or join a expensive club. I have tried to call a person that owns alot of land near my house but he has not called me back so I am expecting a no. I do not own a truck so its hard to get a deer from a WMA since the closest ones are 2 hours away.

Let me know if any of yall have any ideas.
Posted By: Beadlescomb

Re: ISO cheap/free land or club for new hunter - 10/07/15 10:54 AM

Re: ISO cheap/free land or club for new hunter - 10/07/15 11:15 AM

yes i am it would just be me and my gun in the woods
Posted By: bamaeyedoc

Re: ISO cheap/free land or club for new hunter - 10/07/15 11:34 AM

First off good luck with your quest.

I'm not sure what your definition of "expensive" is. There plenty of clubs where the dues are as low as $500. I'm sure there are several clubs in your area that would be reasonable in cost. At least you'd have access to land and probably some good folks to help you get a deer out of the woods if you're successful.

All because you don't have a truck, doesn't mean you can't get a deer home. I hauled many a deer in my Honda civic then a Prelude before I ever had a truck. I didn't have an ATV either. It was drag him to the road and load him up. It's all about how motivated you are and what you're willing to do. Just don't give up.

Another word of advice: calling a rich landowner will never get you permission to hunt a place. If you want a chance at that land, you need to go knock on his door or offer to take him to lunch and meet him. Offer to do chores or work around the place in return for a permit to hunt. You may still get a "no" but at least you have made a personal contact with him.