Aldeer.com

What scent killer do you use?

Posted By: TR62

What scent killer do you use? - 09/16/14 08:09 PM

I've been using Dead Down Wind for a couple years now and with pretty good results. I know some people make their own and I'm curious as to what the mixtures are. I'm not a big fan of deer pee or any of those scents, but I would like to hear what y'all use to cover your natural scent.
Posted By: AUstan23

Re: What scent killer do you use? - 09/16/14 08:41 PM

I use those scent wafers that come in the re-sealable brown case, like fresh earth scent or pine. Used dead down wind , hunter's specialty, that stuff too. honestly sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I try not to touch anything walking in and out (other than my rubber boots on the ground of course). If i can walk in a shallow creek or ditch that's really the perfect set-up with the right wind too. Killed a doe last year at 9 steps hunting off the ground (just sitting at the base of a tree) and i'm convinced it was because I took the longer route walking in a creek versus a straight shot to my spot by walking through the brush (funny enough she came right where i would have walked in had i walked through the leaves). My best success has come from modifying entry and exit routes with wind and deer movement rather than what's the best cover scent. Look up bill winke's articles and videos on scent and routes to your stand. He hunts the midwest but I've started using his ideas here in bama and noticed a huge decrease in the number of deer that i spook or that bust me. Makes it harder to find good spots but when everything comes together it's awesome.
Posted By: skintback

Re: What scent killer do you use? - 09/16/14 08:55 PM