Might put my 260 in the safe next year and go back to my 243
Posted By: Bcbama260

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:12 PM

Originally Posted by CNC
The list of dog trackers is at the top of the page....... just sayin. thumbup

Knock on wood never needed dog when I shot a 243
Posted By: foldemup

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:19 PM

I mostly use one. Remington model 7 SS with Timney trigger, zeiss conquest 3x9x40, 95 gr Bergers. No dog needed
Posted By: odocoileus

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:25 PM

Not full time, but use the better of the .243s, the 6mm Rem, a good bit.
Posted By: low wall

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:30 PM

Modern bullets make tracking a lot less likely than it used to be. I've been using one for the last 4-5 years, and if I do my job, the .243 has been a good bullet. However, I've long since learned my limitations as a shooter, and leave the wide open fields to the excellent shooters with beanfield rifles.
Posted By: jb20

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:31 PM

I’m a 308 guy but I’ve killed several with a 243…I’d take a 243 rather than anything bigger than a 308 tho…I like short rifles
Posted By: hunterbuck

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:47 PM

Been killing the hell out of 'em with a 6mm ARC the past two seasons. Seen every one of them fall.
Posted By: CNC

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 04:58 PM

You’re just hand cuffing yourself for no reason….There just really isnt a purpose or benefit in using it over other larger calibers iffin you’re a grown man. I honestly think that many folks hunt with them simply for the purpose of trying to prove a point to everyone else…….and that’s kinda a lame reason when the buck of a lifetime is walking straight away from you at 50 yards.
Posted By: trailertrash

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 05:12 PM

Ain't you got some weeds to fertilize or somethin'

gun rofl
Posted By: Turkey_neck

Re: .243 Shooters - 11/16/22 05:25 PM

Originally Posted by CNC