Aldeer.com

Giving up trail cameras

Posted By: Joe4majors

Giving up trail cameras - 03/09/19 02:48 PM

Has anyone completely given up cams and seen a meaningful improvement in hunting quality as a result? I don’t have much land to work with so obviously less pressure the better. I’m already dealing with dogs running around. rolleyes By improved hunting quality I mean more daylight sightings, mature buck kills, etc.
Posted By: bamaeyedoc

Re: Giving up trail cameras - 03/09/19 03:02 PM

I don't see cameras being used as "a meaningful improvement in hunting quality." I just like them to see what critters are out there. I've been running them for over 10 years and some of the pics I've gotten are incredible. Some folks do a "hit list" or hunt a particular buck and that's great. My experience is that unless you have your own place to yourself, the nice deer you have on camera will be killed by someone else in the club that never knew the buck was even there. I've never killed a nice buck I have on camera but my neighbor has. slap

Dr. B
Posted By: Bustinbeards

Re: Giving up trail cameras - 03/09/19 03:11 PM

I run them year round, but don't check them often once every month or two. I don't run them over feed mostly on licks or trails or well used fields. I don't check them often enough to pattern anything but, just like knowing what's around and enjoy seeing the pics.
Posted By: N2TRKYS

Re: Giving up trail cameras - 03/09/19 03:29 PM

I start them in September and run them until the end of the season. I check them at least once a week, but usually more often than that. They have proven to be a very valuable tool for locating and patterning bucks. I haven't seen any adverse reactions to doing this over several years and numerous properties.
Posted By: jdfarm23

Re: Giving up trail cameras - 03/09/19 03:38 PM