Aldeer.com

Browning BAR question

Posted By: Remington270

Browning BAR question - 11/13/17 09:55 PM

One of the things stopping me from buying a semi-auto deer gun is the noise associated with slamming the action closed in the stand. Is it as loud as an AR? I've heard stories of the gun not firing due to folks not closing the action with enough force. Can any of y'all speak to this?
Posted By: perchjerker

Re: Browning BAR question - 11/13/17 09:59 PM

I slam mine at the truck and climb with it on my back. I tried easing it shut once and it didn't go bang! Not quite as loud as an AR, but not quiet. You can't ease one like a bolt action. It's never been a problem after I found out. I've been using one since 1990. Hunt Safe
Posted By: crocker

Re: Browning BAR question - 11/13/17 10:00 PM

I have shot a bar for years. No need to slam action. Ease it down. It’s obvious if it’s down or not.
Posted By: 2Dogs

Re: Browning BAR question - 11/13/17 10:10 PM

Originally Posted By: crocker
I have shot a bar for years. No need to slam action. Ease it down. It’s obvious if it’s down or not.

This ^^^^. Ease it closed and make sure the bolt handle is forward. I'll shoot.
Posted By: ronfromramer

Re: Browning BAR question - 11/13/17 11:15 PM

I've been shooting one for over 30 years. Like others said, ease it forward then push it closed, never had a problem
Posted By: CarbonClimber1

Re: Browning BAR question - 11/13/17 11:23 PM