Aldeer.com

Putting up a new ground blind.

Posted By: tarmac3030

Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 05:58 PM

How will this affect deer movement and for how long? I brushed it in, and has been sitting for two weeks now. My trail cam activity went from tons of activity to hardly anything. Not even seeing coyote activity anymore. Did I screw up a good thing or should I leave it alone? FWIW, I'm a noob hunter, and this is on private land that only I and my brother in law hunt.
Posted By: jsmith51

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:01 PM

Whats it watching? Plot, acorns?
Posted By: perchjerker

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:05 PM

It probably stinks since its new. Let them get used to it.

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:06 PM

It's off to the side of a logging rd between a pine thicket and hardwood bottom.

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:10 PM

Sounds like a good spot, hunt it this weekend with the cooler weather coming in. They are probably bedding in th pines and eating the acorns. Dont overhunt it and they will get used to it. Good luck

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:18 PM

I think I'm going to back off and give it a couple of weeks.
Posted By: perchjerker

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:37 PM

At least let it rain on it good.
Posted By: Beadlescomb

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:41 PM

I set my ground blind up Thursday morning and killed a buck out of it then went back Friday morning and killed a second buck out of it. I've never had it spook a deer that I know about.
Posted By: Clark8907

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 06:48 PM

The key is to brush it in really good. I have killed two 130+ deer out of a ground blind that was set up the day before. Take the time and brush it in super good and you will be fine.

Re: Putting up a new ground blind. - 11/30/15 07:22 PM