Aldeer.com

Strange Bird

Posted By: notfromhere

Strange Bird - 04/27/15 05:29 PM

I am new to turkey hunting. What I read from most of you is that when you get a bird interested do not over call. So Saturday in the lightening and rain I am on a bird. Just as I get set up and he gobbles from a tree about 100 yds away. I let him gobble a few more times before I decide sound off. When he flies down he lands on the other side of a deep creek (guess he didnt like my call). He is sounding off so I give him a little more. which seemed to get him closer by the sound of things. then he starts heading up the ridge on his side. I keep hearing him further so i get up and cross over. I get within 100 yrds and set up then sound off. It got his attention because he started moving closer to me. I shut up and get ready. then the lightening hit and he shut up. I just sat there till it passed. He starts to gobble from across the creek 300 yrds away. I move back over to about parallel on a hill with him. he is in a field over the property line. i set up and sound off. He moves down the hill to where it is easy to cross the line. I move down to a great spot. he sounds off, this time i dont yelp, I cut with my mouth piece. He seemed to like that alot as he moved quickly in my direction. I make out his movement through the brush about 120 yrds away. I know it is the time so i shut up and get real still. Next time i hear him he is over 300 yrds away. I move down to where he came back out of the field (seen his tracks) and set up. He just kept moving away. He got into a swampy area over the property line. I hope he is there next season because the area is now closed. I had a blast hunting him but was sorely disappointed coming home empty. I guess I should of picked up on him needing to hear something sooner before he was gone. This same bird on opening morning I set up (unknowingly) 20 yrds from his roost when he sounded off I moved and He saw me and flew off. Do you suppose that he remem