Aldeer.com

Big Creek Lake -Mobile Co

Posted By: GUT_SHOT

Big Creek Lake -Mobile Co - 02/03/16 11:21 PM

Hey, guys I'm look for any pointers on crappie fishing Big Creek Lake in Mobile CO. I've never fished it before so any advise is welcome.
Thanks
Posted By: perchjerker

Re: Big Creek Lake -Mobile Co - 02/03/16 11:39 PM

The one and only crappie I ever caught I caught there on a count down rapala about 45 yrs ago. Then there were several coves full of cut timber. I was fishing one called "RED ROAD" Bass Fishing was awesome there before the put stripes in. 4 lb bass schooled on the surface the. Good Luck !
Posted By: Beadlescomb

Re: Big Creek Lake -Mobile Co - 02/04/16 12:46 AM

What's your level of crappie fishing expertise? Have you ever done any trolling or spider rigging? Mainly a long pole in a minnow? Casting jigs? What kind of boat and set up do you have?
Posted By: GUT_SHOT

Re: Big Creek Lake -Mobile Co - 02/04/16 08:13 PM

Beadlescomb
I'm just starting out learning the crappie.I've done more bass fishing in 10-12 acre ponds in the past. I have a 18' bass tracker, within update fish/depth finder.
What I understand for crappie during this time of year is I'm looking for structure 20-25foot deep. I have multiple color jigs to try. i understand darker colors with less tail action work better this time of year, and as the water warms move to lighter colors more action, in in shallower water depth late spring/summer
any guidance is welcome

Re: Big Creek Lake -Mobile Co - 02/05/16 12:57 AM