Aldeer.com

Marengo County

Posted By: RollTide2014

Marengo County - 11/30/23 01:00 PM

New to hunting in Marengo County. Just curious as to when bucks typically start laying down scrapes?
Posted By: marshmud991

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 02:11 PM

I’m in Monroe county and we find scrapes from October to April
Posted By: RCHRR

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 02:23 PM

Hard rut is Christmas. Hunted there for over 40 yrs and on my ex InLaws property you’d start seeing serious scrapes last week of November and Christmas Day morning it was own.

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 02:24 PM

I’ve found some old scrapes I’m assuming from earlier this year or late last year, nothing fresh. Maybe i just haven’t stumbled on the core area I’m looking for yet.
Posted By: hamma

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 03:03 PM

Last 2 wks of January
Posted By: Stoney

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 03:16 PM

One member says Christmas one member says last of Jan. I am new to hunting in Marengo County also so now I am confused even more
Posted By: abolt300

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 03:58 PM

All depends on which part of Marengo. Demopolis/Linden/Thomaston area you will want to start hunting hard from Jan1 through the end. May have a few does come in early, between Christmas and the end of Dec but the majority will be early-mid Jan. Dixons Mills and south Marengo, Jan 12th through the close of season. From Martin Luther King day on, will be your best time in the south end of Marengo. I hunted Demopolis for 15 yrs and we killed 70% of our big bucks between Jan 5th and Jan 15th and then you'd have another flurry, that would start the last few days of January when the ones not bred in the first cycle, came back in.
Posted By: Stoney

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 04:16 PM

Thanks
Posted By: MCW

Re: Marengo County - 11/30/23 06:07 PM

abolt is spot on. I grew up south of Linden and still hunt there on the same property. What he said is correct.
Posted By: Gobble4me757